Dream Theater - Images And Words
Atco  (1992)
Progressive Metal

In Collection

CD    8 tracks  (57:04) 
   01   Pull Me Under             08:14
   02   Another Day             04:23
   03   Take The Time             08:21
   04   Surrounded             05:30
   05   Metropolis, Part I: The Miracle And The Sleeper             09:32
   06   Under A Glass Moon             07:03
   07   Wait For Sleep             02:31
   08   Learning To Live             11:30
Personal Details
Owner Terje Dokken
Links Amazon UK
Cat. Number 792148-2
UPC (Barcode) 075679214829
Packaging Jewel Case
Sound Stereo
Vocals James LaBrie
Guitar John Petrucci
Drums Mike Portnoy
Bass John Myung
Keyboards Kevin Moore
Producer David Prater
Review by Phil Carter Dream Theater's first album with new vocalist James LaBrie is an excellent mix of progressive metal stylings with heartfelt vocals and thought-provoking lyrics. Guitarist John Petrucci, bassist John Myung, and drummer Mike Portnoy, all of whom trained at Berklee, show impressive ability on their respective instruments. Kevin Moore's keyboards weave strongly through the intricately constructed songs, while operatically trained LaBrie shows an impressive range with his tenor. Standout tracks include the complex "Metropolis, Pt. 1," the Shakespeare-influenced "Pull Me Under" (also released as a single and video), the dramatic "Take the Time," and the 11-minute, thoughtful "Learning to Live." Dream Theater's musicianship and songwriting are a cut above the norm; this is a very good disc. www.allmusic.com: 4,5 out of 5 AMG album pick.